Multiple DUI Convictions in Cobb County GA
It’s hard enough when you get a single DUI conviction. You are facing fines that range from $300 to $1,000, up to a year in jail as well as up to 12 months of having your license suspended. You will have a criminal record and will not be able to drive. However, for each additional DUI charge, the severity of the consequences will increase dramatically. Blevins & Hong, P.C. offer extensive experience defending cases of multiple DUI in Cobb County and they have a thorough knowledge of Georgia’s laws regarding DUI. We have the ability to aggressively defend anyone facing multiple DUIs in Marietta.
Consequences for Multiple DUI Convictions
A person can face fines of $600 to $1,000, jail time of up to a year (72 hours mandatory with a minimum of 90 days), community service of 45 days and up to 3 years license revocation, for a second DUI. If you are charged with a third DUI, fines increase to a minimum of $1,000 up to $5,000, jail time can be up to a year with 15 days mandatory and 120 days minimum; additionally, you could face up to five years with a suspended license. A fourth DUI results in a fine of $1,000, minimum, up to five years in jail and is a felony conviction.
Alcohol Laws and DUIs in Cobb County, Georgia
Georgia State driving law prohibits drivers from driving a motor vehicle when their BAC (blood alcohol concentration) is .08% or above. This is the standard limit all across the United States. There are also laws, separate from this one, that set lower BAC limits on under age 21 drivers as well as commercial drivers. They also enforce their ‘Open Container Law‘.
Their open container law states that any alcoholic beverage container with any amount of alcohol in it that is open is a violation of this law. That includes any containers that have broken seals, or any containers that have even had any alcohol partially removed along the roadway or shoulder of a public highway, will cost the driver a fine of $200.
So how many drinks would it take to be over the legal limit in the state of Georgia? There is not one simple answer to this. Each individual has their own specific metabolism which will determine what this number is for them. Things like body fat, overall weight, and length of time in between drinks will all play a part in determining the impairment of the person in question.
Studies have shown that for each individual drink you have, your BAC can go up as much as .05%. What that means is that it takes very small amounts of alcohol to go over the legal limit and be legally drunk. The penalties and risks for drunk driving make it not worth becoming impaired.
In Cobb County, Georgia the law permits a prosecuting attorney to make the decision to reduce some DUI charges down to reckless driving. However, you should consider two things –
- Your record is going to show a disposition for DUIs, and you could receive the exact same penalties if you receive a DUI conviction.
- Having your DUI reduced to reckless driving mostly only happens in instances of first offense. Multiple DUI charges carry severe punishment and penalties.
If you are facing multiple charges of DUI in Marietta GA, an experienced DUI attorney is important. The penalties you face can have a long-lasting impact not only on your life, but on your reputation and career as well. At Blevins & Hong, we have the experienced DUI attorney you need, we have many years’ experience defending DUI cases in Cobb County. Our lawyers have the experience and knowledge to help defend your case. Contact an attorney from our team and schedule a free case evaluation.
Why Clients Choose UsThe Right Firm Makes a Difference
Personalized Strategies & Results
Millions Recovered for Our Clients
55+ Years of Combined Legal Experience
Free, No-Obligation Consultations